Subscribe to Updates & Daily Quiz

Other committees

Committees Relating to the Day-to-Day Business of the House

  1. Business Advisory Committee

The Business Advisory Committee of Lok Sabha consists of 15 members including the Speaker who is the ex-officio Chairman.

The members are nominated by the Speaker. Almost all sections of the House are represented on the Committee.

The function of the Committee is to recommend the time that should be allotted for the discussion of such government legislative and other business as the Speaker, in consultation with the Leader of the House, may direct to be referred to the Committee.

The Committee, on its own initiative, may also recommend to the Government to bring forward particular subjects for discussion in the House and recommend allocation of time for such discussions. The decisions reached by the Committee are always unanimous in character and representative of the collective view of the House.

The Committee generally meets at the beginning of each Session and thereafter as and when necessary.

  1. Committee on Private Members’ Bills and Resolutions

This Committee consists of 15 members and the Deputy Speaker is its Chairman when nominated as a member of the Committee.

The Committee is nominated by the Speaker. The functions of the Committee are to allot time to Private Members’ Bills and Resolutions, to examine Private Members’ Bills seeking to amend the Constitution before their introduction in Lok Sabha, to examine all Private Members’ Bills after they are introduced and before they are taken up for consideration in the House and to classify them according to their nature, urgency and importance into two categories.

The Committee, thus, performs the same function in relation to Private Members’ Bills and Resolutions as the Business Advisory Committee does in regard to Government Business. The Committee holds office for a term not exceeding one year.

  1. Committee on Rules

A Committee on Rules shall be constituted to consider matters of procedure and conduct of business in the Council and to recommend any amendments or additions to these rules that may be deemed necessary.


  1. The Committee on Rules shall be nominated by the Chairman and shall consist of sixteen members including the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman.
  2. The Chairman shall be the Chairman of the Committee.
  3. The Committee nominated under sub-rule (1) shall hold office until a new Committee is nominated.
  4. Casual vacancies in the Committee shall be filled by the Chairman.
  5. If the Chairman is for any reason unable to act as the Chairman of the Committee, the Deputy Chairman shall act as the Chairman of the Committee in his place.
  6. If the Chairman or the Deputy Chairman, as the case may be, is for any reason unable to preside over any meeting, the Committee shall choose any other member to act as the Chairman of the Committee for that meeting.

  1. Committee on Absence of Members from the Sittings of the House

To consider applications from members for leave of absence from the sittings of the House and examine every case where a member has been absent for a period of 60 days or more, without permission, from the sittings of the House.

House-Keeping Committees


  1. General Purposes Committee

To advise the Speaker on such matters concerning the affairs of the House as may be referred to it by the Speaker from time to time.

  1. House Committee

To deal with all questions relating to residential accommodation for members of Lok Sabha and also exercise supervision over facilities for accommodation, food, medical aid and other amenities accorded to members in members’ residences and hostels in Delhi.

  1. Library Committee

To consider and advise on such matters concerning the Library as may be referred to it by the Speaker from time to time. Also to consider suggestions for the improvement of the Library and assist members of both Houses in fully utilising the services provided by the Library.

  1. Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament

To make rules, after consultation with the Central Government to provide for travelling and daily allowances, medical, housing, telephone, postal, water, electricity, constituency and secretarial facilities etc. to members of both Houses.

Consultative Committees

The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs constitutes Consultative Committees of Members of both the Houses of Parliament, which are attached to various Ministries, and arranges meetings thereof. The Minister/Minister of State in-charge of the Ministry concerned acts as the chairman of the Consultative Committee of that Ministry.

The main purpose of these Committees is to provide a forum for informal discussions between the Government and Members of Parliament on policies and programmes of the Government and the manner of their implementation. Meetings of these Committees are held both during the session and inter-session period of Parliament.

After the constitution of the 14th Lok Sabha, 32 Consultative Committees attached to various Ministries were constituted. Besides this, 16 Informal Consultative Committees of the sixteen Railway Zones have also been constituted. Unlike the Consultative Committees attached to the Ministries, meetings, of these Informal Consultative Committees are to be arranged during Session periods only.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *