Subscribe to Updates & Daily Quiz

Central Vigilance Commission

The Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) is an apex Indian governmental body created in 1964 to address governmental corruption. It has the status of an autonomous body, free of control from any executive authority, charged with monitoring all vigilance activity under the Central Government of India, advising various authorities in central Government organizations in planning, executing, reviewing and reforming their vigilance work.

It was set up by the Government of India in February, 1964 on the recommendations of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, headed by Shri K. Santhanam, to advise and guide Central Government agencies in the field of vigilance


The Commission shall consist of a Central Vigilance Commissioner (Chairperson) and not more than two Vigilance Commissioners (members).

The Central Vigilance Commissioner and the Vigilance Commissioners shall be appointed by the President on recommendation of a Committee consisting of the Prime Minister (Chairperson), the Minister of Home Affairs (Member)  and the Leader of the Opposition in the House of the People (Member).

The term of office of the Central Vigilance Commissioner and the Vigilance Commissioners would be four years from the date on which they enter their office or till they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

The Commission, while conducting the inquiry, shall have all the powers of a Civil Court with respect to certain aspects.

Commission’s Jurisdiction under CVC Act

  1. Members of All India Services serving in connection with the affairs of the Union and gazetted officers of the Central Government.
  2. Board level appointees and other senior officers upto two grades below the Board level, in the Public Sector Undertakings of the Central Government;
  3. Officers of the rank of Scale V and above in the Public Sector Banks; Officers of the rank of Assistant Manager and above in the Insurance Sector (covered by LIC and GIC and four non-life insurance companies in the Public sector); and
  4. Officers drawing basic pay of Rs. 8700/- (Pre-revised) per month and above in autonomous bodies/local authorities or societies owned or controlled by the Central Government.

The appointment of the CVC as well as that of the VCs has been made by the President on the recommendations of a Committee consisting of (a) the Prime Minister, (b) the Minister of Home Affairs and (c) the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha.

The Central Vigilance Commission is assisted by a Secretary (of the rank of Additional Secretary to the Government of India), four Additional Secretaries (of the rank of Joint Secretary to the Government of India) and other staff which include 28 officers (of the rank of Director/Deputy Secretaries), two OSD and four Under Secretaries. This includes fourteen Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDIs) (11 Director level and 03 Deputy Secretary level) who are nominated to conduct departmental inquiries relating to major penalty proceedings on behalf of the disciplinary authorities in serious and important disciplinary cases.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *