Subscribe to Updates & Daily Quiz

Administration of Tribal Areas

If there are different Scheduled Tribes in an autonomous district, the Governor may, by public notification, divide the area or areas inhabited by them into autonomous regions.

The Governor may include any area, and exclude any area, create a new autonomous district, increase the area of any autonomous district, diminish the area of any autonomous district, unite two or more autonomous districts or parts thereof so as to form one autonomous district, alter the name of any autonomous district, define the boundaries of any autonomous district.

There shall be a District Council for each autonomous district consisting of not more than thirty members, of whom not more than four persons shall be nominated by the Governor and the rest shall be elected on the basis of adult suffrage. There shall be a separate Regional Council for each area. Each District Council and each Regional Council shall be a body corporate by the name respectively of “the District Council of (name of district)” and “the Regional Council of (name of region)” shall have perpetual succession and a common seal.

The administration of an autonomous district shall be vested in the District Council and the administration of an autonomous region shall be vested in the Regional Council for such region.

The Governor shall make rules for the first constitution of District Councils and Regional Councils in consultation with the existing tribal Councils or other representative tribal organizations within the autonomous districts or regions concerned, and such rules shall provide for:

  1. The composition of the District Councils and Regional Councils and the allocation of seats.
  2. The delimitation of territorial constituencies for the purpose of elections to those Councils.
  3. The qualifications for voting at such elections and the preparation of electoral rolls.
  4. The qualifications for being elected at such elections as members of such Councils.
  5. The term of office of members of Regional Councils.
  6. Any other matter relating to or connected with elections or nominations to such Councils.
  7. The procedure and the conduct of business (including the power to act notwithstanding any vacancy) in the District and Regional Councils.
  8. The appointment of officers and staff of the District and Regional Councils.

The tribal areas in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram are separately dealt with and provisions for their administration are to be found in the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution.

Part X of the Constitution is concerned with the administration of Scheduled Areas and Tribal Areas.

The Constitution makes special provisions for the administration of certain areas called Scheduled Areas, presumably because of the backwardness of the people of these Areas.

Subject to legislation by Parliament, the power to declare an area as a “Scheduled area” is given to the President.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *